Lifestyle and Ethical Audit beckons new IEBC commissioners-Taib

The new Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commissioners should be ready for a lifestyle and ethical audit if the former Mombasa Mayor Taib Ali Taib becomes the next chairperson of the electoral commission.
Taib, who was the first candidate to be interviewed by the Bernadette Musundi led selection panel which is holding its sittings at the County Hall in the search of the next IEBC chairperson said should he be nominated to the post, he would seek the services of a reputable audit firm to probe the ethics of the commission’s staff as well as ensure a transparent audit of the voter register.
The former mayor further said that there was need to have the yet- to- be established commission and the secretariat to sign an integrity pact to ensure that both parties worked coherently towards the August 2017 General Election.
 “The most important thing is to have an audit of all staff, structures and the voter register. We must clean the house first before embarking on any other business. Thereafter we shall implement the law to detail. ,” said Taib.
He has underscored the importance of a continued involvement of all key stakeholders to allow them whistle blow any improprieties by the commission to build confidence and trust of a fair and transparent election.
“We must consult widely with our stakeholders, if the political players perceives us a corrupt or unfair then we will have lost the game. We must rebuild confidence first,” he added.
Taib also told politicians fond of breaking the law during electioneering period to brace themselves for a tough campaign session as the law would be implemented sternly but without prejudice.
“We fail because we are shy to implement the law. I want to assure the country that if I am appointed to head the commission those who are used to flout laws will face its wrath,” he said.
Others lined up to face the panel include Former Judicial Service Commissioner (JSC) Florence Muoti Mwangangi and advocates Wanyonyi Wafula Chebukati, Tukero Ole Kina and Lucas Leperes Ole Naikuni according to a schedule released by the Panel.
The Panel had initially shortlisted Devolution expert Dr Mutakha Kangu, Roseline Odhiambo-Odede, who was a member of the now defunct Judges and Magistrates Vetting Board , former Truth, Justice and Reconciliation Commissioner Margaret Wambui Ngugi Shava and advocates David Kiprop Malakwen and David Mukii Mereka who will now be interviewed on Tuesday.
The Selection Panel was accused of almost scuttling the exercise after it was forced to re-advertise for the position of chairman just two days to the start of the interviews scheduled for November 28.
After conducting interviews, the Selection Panel shall select two persons qualified to be appointed as IEBC Chairperson and nine others for appointment as commissioners of the electoral body whose names will be forwarded to President Uhuru Kenyatta for consideration.
Under the law, the President is required to nominate one person for appointment as the Chairperson and six others for appointment as commissioners.
The Selection Panel shall stand dissolved upon the requisite appointments being made.
Previous KPMG starts auditing voters register
Next No light at the end of the tunnel as Doctors strike persists

You might also like

Sports 0 Comments

First goalless draw at Euro as Poland hold Germany

  Germany and Poland played out the first goalless draw of Euro 2016 as both teams took a huge stride towards qualifying from the group stage. Both now have four

Latest 0 Comments

Sports Headlines January 3 2017

Arsenal manager criticises Premier League fixture schedule Arsenal boss Arsene Wenger believes the festive fixture list is the most irregular he has seen in 20 years. Having beaten Crystal Palace

Latest 0 Comments

News highlights-April 27 2017 Wiper Chairman David Musila resigns to vie for Kitui Governor seat as independent candidate

Wiper Chairman David Musila resigns to vie for Kitui Governor seat as independent candidate Kitui Senator David Musila has resigned as Chairman and Member of the Wiper Democratic Movement (WDM)


No Comments Yet!

You can be first to comment this post!

Leave a Reply