Beyonce, Adele Lead 2016 MTV Video Music Awards Nominations


The nominees for this year’s awards were announced yesterday via Facebook Live and yes the queen is back! It’s been a long time since we saw Beyoncé on music awards nominations but thanks to the speculation –filled “Lemonade” her 12-track album which was released in April this year, she is now leading the pack with 11 nominations under her belt.

Following closely is English Singer Adele with 8 nominations, 7 from her hit song “Hello” which boasts of 1.6 billion views on YouTube. Rapper Drake receive 6 nods for his “Hotline Bling” video, Ariana Grande and Rihanna receiving 5 and 4 nominations respectively.

This year’s competition will be a tough one because 2015 was a good year and it will probably go down as the year of the best songs ever with Justin Bieber’s Sorry, Drake’s Hotline Bling, The Weekend’s Can’t feel my face and Adele’s Hello, Beyoncé’s Formation all being fan favourites and earning the artists spots in the nomination lists.

Kanye West’s infamous “Famous” has also landed the rapper two nominations, in Best Male Video and Video of the Year, which he will be battling for against Beyoncé, Adele, Justin Bieber and Drake. Notably missing from this year’s nomination list is music awards favourite Taylor Swift.

Here is a list of the most competitive categories:

Video of the Year:

Adele – “Hello”

Beyoncé – “Formation”

Drake – “Hotline Bling”

Justin Bieber – “Sorry”

Kanye West – “Famous”

Best Female Video:

Adele – “Hello”

Beyoncé – “Hold Up”

Sia – “Cheap Thrills”

Ariana Grande – “Into You”

Rihanna ft. Drake – “Work” (short version)

Best Male Video:

Drake – “Hotline Bling”

Bryson Tiller – “Don’t”

Calvin Harris ft. Rihanna – “This Is What You Came For”

Kanye West – “Famous”

The Weeknd – “Can’t Feel My Face”

Best Collaboration: 

Beyoncé ft. Kendrick Lamar – “Freedom”

Fifth Harmony ft. Ty Dolla $ign – “Work From Home”

Ariana Grande ft. Lil Wayne – “Let Me Love You”

Calvin Harris ft. Rihanna – “This Is What You Came For”

Rihanna ft. Drake – “Work” (short version)

Best Hip Hop Video: 

Drake – “Hotline Bling”

Desiigner – “Panda”

Bryson Tiller – “Don’t”

Chance The Rapper – “Angels”

2 Chainz – “Watch Out”

Best Pop Video: 

Adele – “Hello”

Beyoncé – “Formation”

Justin Bieber – “Sorry”

Alessia Cara – “Wild Things”

Ariana Grande – “Into You”

 Best Rock Video: 

All Time Low – “Missing You”

Coldplay – “Adventure Of A Lifetime”

Fall Out Boy ft. Demi Lovato – “Irresistible”

Twenty one pilots – “Heathens”

Panic! At The Disco – “Victorious”

Best New Artist: 

Bryson Tiller


Zara Larsson

Lukas Graham


The full list of nominees is available on the MTV website awards show will take place on the 28th of August at the Madison Square Garden in New York.

Previous 13 Dead 19 Wounded In Mogadishu Attack
Next Injured Federer to miss Olympics and rest of season

You might also like

News 0 Comments

NTSA told to intensify road safety campaigns  

The National Transport and Safety Authority (NTSA) has been asked to intensify its road safety campaigns in order to reduce accidents. Transport Licensing Appeals Board chairman John Mututho says there

Newspaper summaries – November 16, 2017

Daily Nation Lawyers urge Supreme Court to annul repeat election Widespread violence, poor voter turnout and failure to adhere to Constitution provisions were yesterday cited as grounds on which Supreme

Latest 0 Comments

Quick 3-ingredient salads to get you through the middle of the day

Watermelon and balsamic salad Watermelon is a very versatile fruit that can be used in a savory meal. This salad consists of watermelon as a base, Mozzarella or goat cheese


No Comments Yet!

You can be first to comment this post!

Leave a Reply